Secretary Duncan Designates 304 Schools as 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools

Secretary Duncan at Blue Ribbon Schools event at School Without Walls

Secretary Duncan at Blue Ribbon Schools event at School Without Walls

Earlier today Secretary Duncan joined Washington, D.C., Mayor Adrian Fenty, D.C. Public Schools Chancellor Michelle Rhee, D.C. State Superintendent of Schools Kerri Briggs, George Washington University Provost Steven Lerman and staff and students at School Without Walls Senior High School in the District to announce the 304 schools throughout the nation designated as 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools. The schools – 254 public and 50 private – will be honored at an awards ceremony Nov. 15-16 in Washington, D.C.

“Our nation has a responsibility to help all children realize their full potential,” Duncan said. “Schools honored with the Blue Ribbon Schools award are committed to achievement and to ensuring that students learn and succeed. Their work reflects the conviction that every child has promise and must receive a quality education.”

The award honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools whose students achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress and helped close gaps in achievement especially among disadvantaged and minority students. Each year since 1982, the U.S. Department of Education has sought out schools where students attain and maintain high academic goals, including those that beat the odds.

Watch the announcement ceremony below:

Click here for an accessible version of the video.

More Photos.